Roy Hobbs Hall of Fame

Established 2013

About Us    |    Inductees    |    Photographs    |    Election Process    |    Nomination Form

2017 Roy Hobbs Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

The Dolphin Room at the Shell Factory

2787 N Tamiami Tr., Ft Myers

Eight elected to RH Hall of Fame Class of 2017

     The Roy Hobbs Hall of Fame will induct 8 new members in its Class of 2017.

     The eight were elected by the current 45 members of the Hall of Fame and the 13-member Board of Trustees in a process that covered the summer months and required nominees to be listed on 70% of the ballots cast by either group.

     The Class of 2017 is comprised of individuals from 7 states and Puerto Rico:

          Jim Ahlborn (Pennsylvania), Pittsburgh Baseball Club

          George Blackwell (Minnesota), Minnesota Saints

          Willie Boyd (Michigan), Border City Brewers

          Dominick Catinella (Illinois), Oak Lawn RH Baseball

          Ellen Giffen (Florida), Roy Hobbs Baseball

          Mark Rienerth (Virginia), Tidewater Drillers

          Fernando Roman (Puerto Rico), Puerto Rico LBBA

          Bart Waldman (Washington), Washington Titans

     The 2017 Brian Mullen Ambassador of Baseball Award is Bonnie Fear

     The Class of 2017 and the Ambassadors will be presented and honored at an induction ceremony and dinner at a date to be determined on during the 2017 Roy Hobbs World Series in Fort Myers, Florida. It will be held the third weekend of the event, between the Legends and Classics divisional play. More information on the date and details will be forthcoming.

Click here to see past inductees and honorees.

Mission Statement

The Roy Hobbs Baseball Hall of Fame is established to recognize and honor individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the game of baseball through their involvement with Roy Hobbs Baseball for at least 10 years, the Roy Hobbs World Series and their local leagues and teams. Individuals shall have made contributions as players, coaches, managers, umpires and administrators. Contributions should have been made on and off the field of play, all impacting the dugout; a prime consideration for induction is the individual’s contributions to the game, their teammates and baseball colleagues.

Ambassador of Baseball

"Roy Hobbs’ Ambassador of Baseball Award is presented during the annual Roy Hobbs Hall of Fame celebration. Recipients (not to be confused with inductees) are associated with Roy Hobbs Baseball and are selected at the discretion of the Roy Hobbs Hall of Fame Trustees. Recipients are recognized with a plaque for their Meritorious Service as an Ambassador of Amateur Baseball."

The Roy Hobbs Hall of Fame is guided by the RH Hall of Fame Board of Trustees, which developed the Mission Statement that has been the guidepost throughout the nomination and election process, which, this year, included voting by the existing members of the HoF. We want to express our heartfelt appreciation to this year's Trustees and the many volunteers who spent their time gathering background information on the nominees and getting us to this day.

Board of Trustees

Co-Chairman, Carl Rakich* & Tom Giffen* (Florida)


Gary Dover* (Tennessee), Tommy Faherty* (New Jersey), Rob Giffen (Ohio), JD Hinson* (North Carolina), Ted Lesiak (Ohio), Joe Maiden* (California), Bob Misko (Florida), Mike Murphey* (Washington), Glenn Miller (Florida).
* - denotes Hall of Fame member.